The Joshua Tree – New Roots Release Date

2 Oct

Universal Music Ireland and RTÉ 2FM have announced the release of The Joshua Tree – New Roots, an 11 track studio collection which sees some of Ireland’s most outstanding musical talent cover songs from U2’s seminal Grammy Award-winning album ‘The Joshua Tree’. We are delighted to be chosen as the charity partner for this special album! It will help raise vital funds to allow us to continue providing hospice care and support to families who desperately need it.

Set for release on Friday, 27 October, The Joshua Tree – New Roots features a stellar roll call of emerging Irish talent including new artist Lyra singing ‘Mothers of The Disappeared’; Picture This performing ‘With or Without You’; Fangclub with their version of ‘Exit’; The Strypes with ‘Trip Through Your Wires’, as well as the hugely talented Imelda May performing a stunning acapella version of ‘I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For’.

Other featured singers include Gavin James with a solo version of ‘Where The Streets Have No Name’; bright new star Aine Cahill performing ‘Red Hill Mining Town’; plus bands including All Tvvins (‘Bullet the Blue Sky’), The Academic (‘In God’s Country’); The Coronas (‘One Tree Hill’), as well as Kodaline with their rendition of ‘Running To Stand Still’.

The Joshua Tree – New Roots will also include an exclusive bonus track from U2, a live performance of ‘Red Hill Mining Town’ recorded at the band’s recent show in Amsterdam during the critically acclaimed ‘The Joshua Tree Tour 2017’.

Larry Mullen of U2 said of the project – “The songs on ‘The Joshua Tree’ have travelled well with us over the past 30 years, it’s been a privilege to take them out on tour around the world again this year. And what an honour to hear them revisited on The Joshua Tree – New Roots in support of the important work of LauraLynn.”

To commemorate this special relaunch, 2FM launched a competition for the public to submit a cover design for ‘New Roots’, using the original album as inspiration. Therefore the children at LauraLynn got a chance to make their own original submission, which they created with the help of our hospice team. This artwork will be included in the booklet that accompanies the album.

Speaking on behalf of LauraLynn CEO Sharon Morrow explained what it means to LauraLynn to be chosen for this special project – “LauraLynn is Ireland’s only Children’s Hospice caring for children from birth to 18 years old, with life limiting conditions and helping their families to cope. We are thrilled to have been chosen as the charity partner for this fantastic initiative by 2FM and Universal Music Ireland; not just because it will help raise vital funds to allow us provide hospice care and support families who desperately need it but also because the children have had so much fun in the process, designing artwork… making precious memories.  And that’s what it’s all about!” she said.

Curated by Universal Music Ireland, the idea for the record originated with 2fm. This very special album has been made possible through the generosity of the performing artists, U2 and all the labels, managers and production teams involved

The Joshua Tree – New Roots is available on CD, download and to stream from 27th October 2017.

Full Track Listing is as follows;

1. Gavin James Where The Streets Have No Name
2. Imelda May I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
3. Picture This With or Without You
4. All Tvvins Bullet the Blue Sky
5. Kodaline Running To Stand Still
6. Aine Cahill Red Hill Mining Town
7. The Academic In God’s Country
8. The Strypes Trip Through Your Wires
9. The Coronas One Tree Hill
10. Fangclub Exit
11. Lyra Mothers of the Disappeared
12. U2 EXCLUSIVE BONUS TRACK – Red Hill Mining Town – Live from The Joshua Tree Tour 2017
< Back to News

Get Involved!

Talk to us at LauraLynn