The LauraLynn Oscars 2018

24 Mar

The Odeon Cinema in Charlestown, Dublin 11, was the location for the third annual LauraLynn Oscars ceremony this weekend, which saw eight wonderful short films made by LauraLynn families premiere at an exclusive gala event featuring a red carpet and an invite-only audience.

The stars of the movies and their families enjoyed the full hair and makeup treatment at LauraLynn Children’s Hospice before being chauffeured to the red carpet at The Odeon, where they were greeted by screaming fans and photographers. The evening ended with each movie receiving its very own ‘LauraLynn Oscar’ (full list of winners below), presented on the evening by Baz Ashmawy and 2FM radio presenter Tracy Clifford.

The LauraLynn Oscars is a much-loved event in the hospice’s calendar and involves LauraLynn children, their siblings, and their parents writing, producing and starring in their very own short films with the generous help of industry professionals.

Shot on location in various counties around Ireland, the films span a range of genres, including comedy, action, animation and drama, with all films edited and produced by Windmill Lane Recording Studios. Each year the Oscars aim to foster whole family engagement while therapeutically supporting anticipatory loss within the family, with the final output of the project providing a tangible, post-bereavement legacy for families to cherish.

Check out pictures from the LauraLynn Oscars here. 


Award Winners

Best Comedy:’Clubber, The Loveable, Forgetful, Clumsy Alien’ Aoibhin and Family

Best Fantasy: ‘Conall and his Book of Spells’ Conall and Family

Best Original Screenplay: ‘Honey I Shrunk Darth Vader’ Liam and Family

Best Adapted Animation: ‘Leeia’s Magnificent Dragon-Taming Adventure’ Leeia and Family

Best Action Movie: ‘James Blonde’ Claudia and Family

Best Adapted Movie: ‘Star Wars – May The Hurl Be With You’ Jamie and Family

Best Adventure: ‘Natalia and The Penguin’ Natalia and Family

Best Drama: ‘The Gig – Pranksters Paradise’ Cillian and Family


We would like to extend a special thanks to all those that made the LauraLynn Oscars possible:

Scriptwriters: Carol Walsh, Gavin Ryan and Paul Webster
Film Industry Professionals: Luke Franklin, Mike Donnelly, Aidan Alcock and Oleg Rudkovoskij
Props & Costumes: Into The Badlands, Audio Networks

Windmill Lane Recording Studios, Odeon Charlestown, Starbucks, Leisureplex, OLIVER Ireland, Ricoh Ireland, Baz Ashmawy, Tracy Clifford, Joanna Butler, Marissa Carter, Cocoa Brown, Martin King, Eventease, Plan My Debs, Lolliprops, Seoda Jewellers, Ballance Hair Studio, Gemma Leigh, Isobel Heaney, Rebekah Doyle, Lindsey Neil, Dunnes Stores, Rathfarnham Garda Station, Glenveagh Castle, Fermoy Community Youth Centre, St. Laurence’s GAA Club, Cast and Crew of The Vikings, Mount Anville Secondary School and our LauraLynn Staff and Volunteers.


< Back to News

Get Involved!

Talk to us at LauraLynn